CPD for Creative’s.The Quest for Excellence!

It was very important for me to transfer the skills I learnt from my various law degrees to the creative sector; research being the main one. I love accumulating knowledge and learning as much as possible about the creative industry I work in. Attending courses has enabled me to be a more effective practitioner and allow me to honestly assess my career pathway. It can sometimes be that one iota of advice that can positively change your personal/career outlook. Here is a list to the types of workshops/ courses I attended over the past year:

  • ‘Making New Music CPD’ More Music
  • ‘Introduction to Market Research’, WISE(Working in Social Enterprise)
  • ‘Professional Development Planning Workshop’, Creative Leicestershire
  • ‘Education Conference-Embedding Creativity in the Primary Curriculum’, The Mighty Creative’s
  • ‘Unpicking Social Media’  A-N /Creative Leicestershire
  • ‘Skills Boost and Leadership Programme’, Performing Arts Leicester
  • ‘Business Start Up Workshops’ B-Inspired

Impact

Each of these workshops has been pivotal to my development whether as a musician, teacher or entrepreneur. My networks have drastically opened up and options made available to me that I never thought were possible. For example, I have a much wider list of key players to draw upon whether it is for a specific music/teaching project, careers advice or just a coffee catch up! The great part is that most of these courses are FREE. All it costs is your time and drive to change which can sometimes be more expensive than paying for the course itself!

One of my goals has always been to give back and empower the next generation of creative’s. By attending these courses and spending time with the inspirational individuals who ran them, I have been injected with empowering fuel and belief to do this and keep raising the bar in my own art form!

Is it worth it?

Yes! If you ever attend a workshop always go in with an open mind because there will always be something positive to take away.  Sometimes you might not get the answer you were looking for, but when you later reflect you will have lots of ‘AHA’ moments! The picture below is with my wonderful colleagues/friends from Performing Arts Leicester.

All the best and always ask yourself, how can I be of better service to the world?

Rishii

Image

Leave a Reply

