Leadership- does not have to be shouted from the roof tops.

leadership chess

Since I have immersed myself into the creative sector over the past few years, there is a lot I have learnt about leadership. I draw upon examples from the network of individuals I spend time with. There are particular traits they possess which makes them stand out as leaders.  Leadership is a term that can be heavily loaded as there are many definitions and interpretations of it.

One of the main aspects I have noticed is that strong leaders do not have to be extroverted and have an outgoing personality. They quietly get on with the task in hand and let their actions speak for them.  Robin Sharma sums it up very well ‘Leading without a title’. I strongly believe that everyone is a leader, but the ones who stand out are the ones who are constantly putting ideas into action and delivering on them. They do not say ‘I am an amazing leader’ or ‘I was the best leader on the project’.

Leadership runs through many facets of our personal and business lives. It is something that can be learned and everyone has the potential to achieve it. Firstly, one needs a clear vision, definitive purpose in life and desire to carry it out.  Based on these elements, leadership qualities will emerge organically. This is because, once you know what you want, you will not settle for anything less. You will always look for the best individuals to be around and utilise their skill set in a mutually beneficial relationship.  Tip: Find individuals in your circle who are successful leaders and observe everything about them.

There are many projects I am grateful to be involved in this year. Each of them requires me to ‘lead’ in some form. However, it will be highly off putting to fellow collaborators if in meetings I say ‘Hi I’m Rishii, the leader of this project’. Just reading it out loud sounds ridiculous.  When you are working hard, taking responsibility and seeing the big picture in any project, the respect that is attached to leadership will be visible.

I will end on a wonderful quote by William Shakespeare in Twelfth Night:

“Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them”.

Feel free to provide your own Interpretation!

Leave a Reply

